UNCEASING WAVES

To Isaipriya: My Sister, My Mother, My Comrade

Posted in Poetry by Karthick RM on December 15, 2010


Many a disease plagues this world
But none so devastating
as the silence of those
that can speak.
I speak today,
I cry today,
for you. My Sister,
My Mother, My Comrade.

My Sister! With music
in your name.
The ‘isai’ of your sacrifice
like that of my other sisters
Manorama, Nilofar, Phulmoni
will be sung for ages to come
in songs of our resistance
This I promise,
your brother, a sorry being
whose only weapons
are his words.

My Mother! I was born
as your son the day
the child of your womb
was killed. Mother,
I am your son.
As I am the son of the mothers
of Eelam, Kurdistan, Palestine.
A son who seeks justice
for unheard voices,
for untold horrors,
for unspoken miseries.
A sorry being, your son,
whose only weapons
are his words.

My Comrade! I claim to live
(rather shamelessly)
for the cause you died for,
a people longing for freedom,
a soil aching for peace,
a love for life,
now facing despair,
now facing death.
As my eyes see
what has been done to you
tears pour – as words.
Words. The only weapons of
a sorry being, your comrade.

Oh dove of freedom
torn apart by vultures of lust!
Oh lamb of peace
prey to jackals of power!
Oh angel of justice!
Oh goddess of liberty!
She lies there, naked
and ravaged
by creatures called ‘men’
Disrobed was not your body,
but the farce called Lanka.
Violated was not you,
but the notion of humanity.
Raped, again and again,
was the silence
of those that can speak,
but who chose not to.

But I speak today,
I cry today.
Your sibling, your son,
your comrade.
Now a man.
Now a walking corpse.
Whose only weapons
are his words.
As of now…

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. man who knows tamil said, on July 8, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    tears cming brother . i m worthless . i shouldnt kill even a single person

  2. V. Thamilarasan said, on September 30, 2011 at 6:36 am

    All Thamils felt/should feel the same all over the world! Thanks for writing on behalf of our people to our beloved sister Isaipriya!

  3. නිර්මාල් said, on December 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Really Good.. touching !!!

  4. SALEM-TAMILIAN said, on November 6, 2012 at 1:36 am

    May god rest in peace of isaapriya’s soul & Srilanka name should be removed from earth&its map.Then only her soul will rest in peace….

  5. shanjeevkumar said, on March 20, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    LTTE should organise again and destroy rajapaksa and singala then only isai priya soul ll will rest

  6. […] But I speak today, I cry today. Your sibling, your son, your comrade. Now a man. Now a walking corpse. Whose only weapons are his words. As of now… Original source: wavesunceasing.wordpress.com/2010/12/15/to-isaipriya-my-sister-my-mother-my-comrade/ […]

  7. Raviendran said, on November 11, 2013 at 2:15 am

    I do not cry
    I pray the god if exist my lovable mum you should be born in this earth ones again.

  8. winibsolomons11 said, on November 11, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    It’s a tragedy that even after 3 years we are in the same helpless condition.


Leave a Reply

